GMIS Bali is an accredited Cambridge International Examination school and offers International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) to students of grade 9 and 10.


The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a balanced international curriculum conducted by the Cambridge International Examinations (CIE). The curriculum is suitable for students of all nationalities and all levels of ability. It provides an ideal preparation for higher level courses such as GCE, 'A' level, SAT and IB.


IGCSE is offered by schools in over 120 countries. It is recognized as equivalent to the British 'O' level and as a qualification for matriculation by universities in many countries. The examination is typically taken at the end of two years, in Grade X.


IGCSE provides a broad study programme by drawing subjects from 5 areas:


  • Languages
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Creative, Technical and Vocational


A student who takes examinations in a minimum of 5 subjects qualifies for the IGCSE certificate. The ICE Certification (International Certificate of Education) is awarded by the CIE for the recommended combination of subjects in the IGCSE examinations.


ICE is a group award of the IGCSE that requires the study of subjects drawn from 5 different IGCSE subject groups. A student must take at least 7 subjects, including 2 languages and 1 subject from each of the other subject groups given below. At GMIS, the students are encouraged to take ICE.


Subject Groups

Group 1

English Language (EFL and ESL)

Bahasa Indonesia (Both languages are Compulsory)

Group 2

History, English Literature, Economics, Geography

Group 3 (All Extended)
Chemistry, Physics, Biology

Group 4

Mathematics (Core and Extended)

Group 5

Accounting, Business Studies, ICT, Art and Design